Obtain a dog license
Per CT General Statute Sec.22-338, all dogs over the age of 6 months must be licensed by the Town Clerk annually on or before June 30th. The license is valid from July 1st through June 30th. Licenses will not be issued without proof of current rabies vaccination.
When licensing a dog for the first time, please provide proof that the dog has been neutered or spayed. The license fee for a neutered/spayed dog is $8; the fee for an unaltered dog is $19.
Renewal reminders are mailed out at the end of May, and renewals are accepted without penalty through June 30th. There is a $1.00 late fee per month after June 30th.
If you move to Redding from another town in Connecticut, bring that town’s current license to the Redding Town Clerk’s office. For a fifty cent fee, you will receive a Redding dog license.
You may obtain a dog license in person at the Town Clerk’s office or by mail by sending the correct fee, current rabies certificate and proof of spay/neuter, (click here for application) along with a self-addressed stamped envelope to:
Redding Town Clerk
PO Box 1028
Redding Center, CT 06875
Click here for information regarding Connecticut’s Animal Population Control Program.