Select Page

Minutes of Board of Selectmen Joint Meeting with Boards of Finance and Education, 12/17/2018

AGENDA: Boards of Selectmen, Finance and Education Special Joint Meeting

RECEIVED 12/19/2018 9:34am
Michele R. Grande – Redding Town Clerk

Board of Selectmen Special Joint Meeting with Boards of Finance and Education
Monday, December 17, 2018
Redding Community Center, 7:30 p.m.


Present: Julia Pemberton, First Selectwoman; Peg O’Donnell, Selectwoman; Michael Thompson, Selectman; Board of Finance members Dr. Kimberly Yonkers; Ward Mazzucco; Robert Dean; Jamie Barickman; Susan Clark; Finance Director Steve Gniadek; Treasurer Wes Higgins; Superintendent Dr. Thomas McMorran; Board of Education members Dr. Melinda Irwin; Colleen Pilato; Heather Whaley; Laura Hoeing; Christopher Parkin; John Reilly; Michael Hoffman; Region 9 Board Chairman Mike D’Agostino; reporters; videographers; members of the public.

1. Call to Order

Dr. Yonkers called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

On the motion of J. Barickman and the second of R. Dean, the Board voted unanimously to add Public Comment before Item 2.

Following public comment, Dr. McMorran presented a detailed PowerPoint outlining the budget drivers for the upcoming budget year. Mike D’Agostino addressed the Easton/Redding proportion split at Joel Barlow.

2. Discussion of cost drivers for the Town’s municipal budget for the 2019-2020 fiscal year

Julia Pemberton reviewed the major budget increases projected for the 2019-2020 fiscal year including tree trimming and personnel changes. The communications equipment replacement and road plan were also noted. An increase in interest income is also projected.

The next budget workshop is scheduled for 1/11/19.

3. Public Comment

Amy Arnold noted her wish for the town to “come together” better this year. Wes Higgins commended Dr. McMorran for his comprehensive presentation.

4. Other business

No items.

5. Board member comment

No items.

6. Adjourn

After the Board of Finance adjourned at 9:28, the Board of Selectman adjourned at 9:29 on the motion of M. Thompson and the second of P. O’Donnell.

Submitted by:
Kristi C. Reilly