Select Page

Minutes of Zoning Board of Appeals, 11/17/2015

AGENDA: Zoning Board of Appeals

RECEIVED 11/19/2015 3:32pm

Notice: Trying to get property 'name' of non-object in /home/customer/www/ on line 46


Beth Williams, Chairman
Henry Polio, Secretary
Colleen Litof
Bruce Given
Scott Smith
Noel Cooke, Alternate

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 pm, in the Conference Room.

Upon the Motion of Mr. Smith and second of Mr. Given, the October 20, 2015 Zoning Board of Appeals Meeting Minutes were approved (5-0) by the Board.

Application 15-11-01306 Umpawaug Road- Owner Fire Dist. #2: Applicant: West Redding Volunteer Fire Dept. –Requesting a variance from Section 3.12(a) (Height Exceptions) of the Redding Zoning Regulations for broadcast antennas a maximum height equal to setback distance of the highest point of the feature from side or rear lot lines, or 100 feet, whichever is least. Antenna Pole is 127’ (pole height of 111’ plus antenna height of 15’).  Variance requested is 41.1 feet from the side and rear setback. (antenna height of 127’ less the rear setback distance 88.9’ = 38.1’ + 3’ = 41.1’) (amended the variance requested from October 20, 2015 ZBA meeting, based on the height of the pole and antenna combined)

Jack Foley, Commissioner for the West Redding Fire District, submitted a letter from Richard A. Kemp of Utility Communications.  Mr. Foley read the letter into the record.

There were no further questions

Election of Officers
Beth Williams was nominated by Mr. Smith for position of Chairman,
Henry Polio was nominated by Mr. Smith for position of Secretary.
The nominations were seconded by Ms. Litof.

Upon motion of Mr. Scott and second of Mr. Given, the Board voted to enter deliberative session at 7:35


Application 15-10-01306 Umpawaug Road- Owner Fire Dist. #2: Applicant: West Redding Volunteer Fire Dept. –Upon motion of Mr. Given and the second of Mr. Polio, the Board voted 5-0 to  approve the application as submitted.

Election of Officers: The Board unanimously approved the nomination of Beth Williams for Chairman and Henry Polio for Secretary.

Upon motion of Mr. Given and second of Mr. Scott, the Board voted to exit deliberative session at 7:37 p.m.


The Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 7:38 p.m.

These minutes have not been approved by the ZBA.
Submitted by mm 11/19/15

Accessibility Tools